Grand theft is a serious charge that can follow you for years to come. If you are facing grand theft charges, it is important to understand what these charges mean and what the potential penalties are so that you can defend yourself properly.
In this brief article, a grand theft defense attorney in St. Petersburg with Russo, Pelletier & Sullivan shares what you need to know about grand theft charges and penalties, and how to best defend yourself.
What is Grand Theft?
Under Florida Statute 812.014(1), a person commits felony grand theft if he or she knowingly obtains or uses, or endeavors to obtain or to use, the property of another with intent to either temporarily or permanently deprive the other person of a right to a property or a benefit from the property.
These charges are broken down into three degrees:
- 3rd Degree Grand Theft: In order for a theft to be a 3rd degree felony grand theft, the property or money taken must be valued at $300 but less than $20,000. Florida Statute 812.014(2)(c).
- 2nd Degree Grand Theft: If the property is worth $20,000 but less than $100,000, the crime is classified as a 2nd degree Grand Theft. Florida Statute 812.014(2)(b);
- 1st Degree Grand Theft: If the property is worth $100,000 or more, the crime is classified as a 1st degree Grand Theft. Florida Statue 812.014(2)(a).
Certain items which do not fall into these categories may also be charged as grand theft. These include:
- Wills and other testamentary instruments
- Motor vehicles
- Commercial animals
- Fire extinguishers
In addition, the taking of property from a dwelling or residence is a felony even if the amount of the stolen money or items is between $100 and $300.
Possible Penalties for Grand Theft
Grand theft has different penalties depending on the degree to which you are charged. A grand theft defense attorney in St. Petersburg will help you understand the possible penalties and best way to fight them.
- A First Degree Felony is punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 years in Florida State Prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.00.
- A Second Degree Felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years in Florida State Prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.00.
- A Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years in Florida State Prison and a $5,000.00 fine.
What Should You Do if Accused of Grand Theft?
If you’ve been accused or charged with grand theft, you should consult an attorney as soon as possible. Your attorney will help you understand the best possible defense for your unique case.
You will need the best grand theft attorney in St. Petersburg with Russo, Pelletier & Sullivan to discuss your case. You may be able to avoid jail time and find a resolution.
For a free consultation with a grand theft attorney in St. Petersburg, please contact Russo, Pelletier & Sullivan today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.